Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Grades

Search Knowledgebase

Topic Contents

Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Grades

Topic Overview

Over the years, doctors have used a variety of terms to classify the many different types of non-Hodgkin's lymphomas. Most often, they are grouped by how the cancer cells look under a microscope and how quickly they are likely to grow and spread. Some types spread more quickly than others.

  • Aggressive lymphomas, also known as intermediate- and high-grade lymphomas, tend to grow and spread quickly and cause severe symptoms.
  • Indolent lymphomas, also referred to as low-grade lymphomas, tend to grow quite slowly and cause fewer symptoms.


By Healthwise Staff
Primary Medical Reviewer Anne C. Poinier, MD - Internal Medicine
Specialist Medical Reviewer Douglas A. Stewart, MD - Medical Oncology
Last Revised July 22, 2010

This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise, Incorporated disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information.