Home » tips »

Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme opens for application


Hong Kong (HKSAR) – The Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme is open for application from today (September 2) until December 31.

First launched in October 2012, the recognition scheme is jointly organised by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) and the Equal Opportunities Commission to show appreciation to enterprises and organisations which have made their websites accessible for all segments of the community, including persons with disabilities.

A spokesman for the OGCIO said, “The inaugural recognition scheme attracted encouraging responses from various business sectors and gained wide support from the community. We will run the scheme again in 2013-14 with a view to encouraging more enterprises and organisations to adopt accessible web design, and making web accessibility a fundamental corollary to web development.

“Making websites accessible not only facilitates access to online information and services by all; it is also good for businesses as it helps in reaching out to a wider customer base and achieving more prominent ranking in search engine results.”

Organisations participating in the recognition scheme will be given free assessment and advisory services on enhancing the accessibility of their websites. Websites meeting the prescribed accreditation criteria will be granted gold or silver awards and can display the award logo as recognition for their outstanding achievement in adopting barrier-free design and contributing to an inclusive society.

In view of the growing popularity of mobile devices, a new Mobile Application Stream is introduced this year to raise public awareness of the accessibility of mobile applications.

“For persons with disabilities, accessible mobile applications are particularly important as they can provide timely information, anywhere and anytime, to enable needy persons to live more independently,” the spokesman added.

There will also be the Most Favourite Websites awards for websites that are most user-friendly to persons with disabilities and the elderly. They will be voted for by local needy groups among the gold awardees in the Website Stream.

The recognition scheme is open to all local enterprises and organisations, non-governmental organisations, academia and quasi-government organisations. The awards presentation ceremony will be held in April 2014.

For details of the scheme, please visit www.webforall.gov.hk/en/scheme.

Enquiries can be made to the Web Accessibility Programme Office by phone on 2582 4606 or by email to wac@ogcio.gov.hk.

Source: HKSAR Government

Published on: 2013-09-02


Social Bookmarking
RETWEET This! | Digg this! | Post to del.icio.us | Post to Furl | Add to Netscape | Add to Yahoo! | Rojo

There are no comments available. Be the first to write a comment.

Your Name

Your Email Address

Your Comment (500 characters left)

Reload Image



You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment



five × 3 =